Five Women to Contest NGE Under DAP

Solomon Women Newspaper
Democratic Alliance Party (DAP) banner.

FIVE aspiring women candidates will be contesting the National General Elections under the Democratic Alliance Party (DAP) banner.

The five women are Caroline Laore to contest the Shortland Islands Constituency, Mary Alalo for Temotu Vatud Constituency, Jacobeth Varimaneiria for Central Guadalcanal Constituency, Everlyn Tugea Tautai for North Guadalcanal Constituency and Mary Doris Kita to contest East Makira Constituency.

Speaking during the Party’s Corporate Dinner on Saturday, DAP Co-Founder and Caretaker Prime Minister Rick Houenipwela has acknowledged the five women for choosing to contest the elections as DAP candidates.

“I acknowledge you for choosing DAP. DAP is a party that upholds stability, good governance consisting of members with principles and integrity,” he said.

The caretaker Prime Minister said the five women have made the right choice in joining DAP. He said DAP is a Party that encourages equal opportunity for women and that is why they have encouraged women to join political parties.

Mr Houenipwela said a stable political party system could promote political stability, which is an important prerequisite to enhance economic development.

“An unstable government would not be in a position to take bold and often unpopular decisions for the country’s economic advancement. Therefore, Based on its integrity and accountability principles, DAP strives to be a strong and stable political party.

He said the Party needs men and women who share DAPs Vision and principles of integrity. We are looking for intending candidates with the desire to serve this nation.

Party Wing Leader and caretaker Minister for Development Planning Aid & Coordination Hon Jeremiah Manele also welcomed and acknowledged the women candidates.

“Women are equal partners in the development of this country and it is important that they are aligned to a political party,” he said.

DAP is one of the only two Parties with the highest number of female candidates contesting this year’s elections.